Ten Things I Love About You: Making me smile all the way


Sebastian Grey is in limbo. He is the heir presumptive to the Earl of Newbury, unless the current earl, a widower, can find a bride who will bear him a son. Newbury is in his sixties and somewhat portly, but as an earl he’s considered quite a catch. Sebastian, on the other hand, is twenty-nine and extremely handsome, but in no hurry to find a wife. Annabel Winslow, a country girl through and through, has received an offer to go to London for the season. The eldest of a family of eight, she knows that a good marriage might be the only thing that will save her family from ruin. After a few weeks in town, Annabel attracts the attention of the Earl of Newbury. The thought of submitting to him makes her skin crawl, but she is practical and determined to do her duty. Even when Sebastian Grey comes on the scene.
I’ve not usually been a big fan of romance. When I was young, I tried my hand at some M&B and I hated them. But this book was rather surprising. Like the characters from this book, I’ll tell you 10 things I loved about it and why you should pick this one up soon!

One: I read this from an e-book. I’m old school so I love the smell of old books and the sepia paper, but I realised when the book is a good one, an e-book will do just the trick. I loved that…

Two: The story is a light one to read. We’re usually too stressed out in life and the last thing we need is something reminding us about how cruel the world can be. The narrative was so very simple and yet so very descriptive. Kudos to Julia Quinn for converting me into a fan in the first read!! But……

Three: It is a typical story. A country girl, a fighting earl and a debonair cassanova. Perfect masala takda!! But there are enough twists and turns to keep the reader totally into the story. You will notice…..

Four: The sizzle between Sebastian and Annabel and you just feel that light carefree feeling as you imagine them both feeling more and saying less. Very lovable Characters But……

Five: It resembles another book by Meg Cabot called Nicola and the Viscount. This one was also set in old times London and spoke volumes about the London society scene. I loved that book so me liking this one was a given. My eyes sparkled at…………..

Six: The spontaneous way in which Sebastian proposes to Annabel just before the Earl of Newbury has his chance!! Usually I am tied down with logic but this one just made me smile J. I tried to copy…..

Seven: The super cute way in which Seb and Annabel count Ten things about every situation, linking every point to each other which makes me……..

Eight: Want to read this book again and again!! Alas for the fact that there are a million unread books, I’d come back to this one again and again!

Nine: I loved that Annabel wasn’t a damsel in distress as all M&B books try with their heroines. She had personality and didn’t faint or get attacked or fall in distress only to have the hero resuce her.

Ten: I do really recommend this book for its “Feel Good” quotient. Spaz agrees on giving it a rather biased but well deserved 4/5 😀

One thought on “Ten Things I Love About You: Making me smile all the way

Leave a Reply

