Jen Minkman of ‘Shadow of Time’ reveals: An Interview


Goodreads has a LOT to say about Jen….

author pic 2Jen Minkman (1978) was born in Holland, in the town of Alphen aan den Rijn. When she was 19, she moved between The Hague, Salzburg (Austria), Brussels (Belgium) and Cambridge (UK) to complete her;  studies in intercultural communication. She is currently a teacher of English, career counsellor and teenage coach at a secondary school in Voorburg, Holland. She tries to read at least 100 books a year (and write a few, too!). She is a published author in her own country, and translates her own books from Dutch into English for self-publication.
In her spare time, she plays the piano, the guitar and the violin. For every novel she writes, she creates a soundtrack.

Even though this may sound like its out of a WIKI page (I hope Jen gets a Wiki Page soon), Jen is a very interesting and a very nice person

After I read her book, I just HAD to INTERVIEW HER and get her thoughts!! So I did. She gets candid about writing, her childhood and lets us in on her journey as a writer

Shadow of timeQ. What Made you Write ‘Shadow of Time’?

JM: Stephenie Meyer made me do it! She wrote New Moon and didn’t give Bella and Jacob a happy ending, so I decided to write a paranormal romance with a girl who would have a happy-ever-after with a Native American 🙂 I also wanted to address a bit of the history and plight of the Native Americans, in particular the Navajo people.

Q. :How is it being a Self Published Author?

JM: In my own country, I am traditionally published, so I know both sides of the coin. I like self-publication because it puts you entirely in control, but of course it’s also a ton of work. You have to make your own marketing plan, write to hundreds of blogs to ask for reviews, keep track of so much stuff. I’m in the process of hiring a publicist who will take part of this burden away from me for the Anglophone market (I would still do the marketing for European countries like Germany and France myself).

Q. Where did you read and research for the book?

JM: Internet! Without Google, I don’t think I would have been able to write the book. It’s set in Arizona, but I have never even been to the US, so it was important to do a lot of research. And of course, I also watched a lot of movies set in that region to get a ‘feel’ for the area.

Q. Tell me about your Childhood

JM: I had a very happy childhood. Born in a family of English teachers, I was quick to pick up that foreign language. I also inherited my love of books from my parents. My dad taught me how to read when I was three, because I wouldn’t stop pestering my parents about them reading stories to me, so the best solution was to ‘teach the kid how to read’ herself, haha!

Q. What do you do in your free time?

JM: t the moment, I write a lot, because I am working on something new. I also love reading, listening to music, playing music (I play the piano, the guitar and the viola) and traveling to foreign countries.

Q. When can we expect more books? Shadow of Time was ADDICTIVE

JM: Thank you! My next book will come out in December 2013, and the one after that, hopefully in the summer of 2014. Of course, I write all my books in Dutch, after which I have to translate them into English, so it might take more time than that. But December 2013 is a definite deadline for my next book, The Boy From the Woods.

Q. What advice do you have for new writers?author pic 1

JM: Write everything you feel like writing, but don’t shy away from having your stuff professionally edited. No-one can write a perfect book in one go, it needs to be tweaked and edited by someone other than you. Don’t be afraid of that; criticism is necessary in order to grow.

Q. What is your opinion about self publishing?

JM: It’s absolutely wonderful. Of course, self-publishing means that some places like the Kindle Store on Amazon will be swamped with e-books that might not be the high standard we expect from books, but that is why Amazon offers a sample download, so you can check out if it’s something you might enjoy. By the way, I would be all for a kind of quality control exercised by people on Kindle Boards to verify whether books that get uploaded to the KDP platform have had appropriate editing done; it would do wonders for the reputation of self-published authors, because such a quality control would mean the really bad stuff would get filtered out and authors would be forced to seek a good editor before trying again.

 

Jen is one of the friendliest authors I have met and is very good to talk to. She can be contacted on Goodreads and her website, http://www.jenminkman.nl/. She is very open to communication and suggestions and ideas.

 

Also if you check out the I Recommend Header in the Menu to your left and Click on ‘Amazon.com Widgets’ to go to Amazon.com and Order Jen’s book. It is something you must read!!! 

One thought on “Jen Minkman of ‘Shadow of Time’ reveals: An Interview

Leave a Reply

