Cristiane Serruya on Love, Trust, Betrayal and a lot more: Interview


trustI started my interaction with Cris when I read her book Trust: A New Beginning and immediately I knew I wanted more. Cris is incredibly talented. Just like one of her central characters, Sophia, Cris manages her time doing so many things like writing, travelling, raising two beautiful daughters. She is also a part time lawyer who believes in the power of true love.

Cris gets candid about love, writing and many other things as she opens up in her first interview right here

Q: What made you write the TRUST Trilogy?

CS: Believe it or not, it was a horrible case of Flu that kept me in bed in a dark room for a week. Those days were crucial for creating the TRUST Trilogy because I felt so bad that I couldn’t read. So, I decided to tell myself a story. The seed was planted.

Q: Tell us about your childhood

CS: I was a very happy and precocious child who loved to study, read, ride horses and play the piano. My family and I used to travel a lot. My best friend was my brother, Sergio, and we did many things together.

Q: What work did you do as a lawyer? Have you drawn any personal inspiration?

CS: I rely heavily on my experience as a lawyer and in my observations of the world. Besides, my family and my friends have such a full life that it is easy to draw creative characters and situations from their experiences.

Q: What are your hobbies? What do you do in your spare time?

CS: Spare time? What is this? Besides being a part time lawyer, an almost full-time writer, and a full-time mother of two teenage daughters and a wife of a very tall and big husband, I’m an avid reader. So, when I do find Spare Time, I work-out, I ride and I go to museums. Don’t ask me when I sleep because I don’t know myself.

Q: Tell us a little about Rio

CS: Rio de Janeiro is one of the most beautiful cities I’ve ever seen. It has it all: great weather (for those who like hot weather, I mean), great people and great attractions. The amazingly beautiful Avenida Atlantica and its beach, in Copacabana, are famous all around the world. And this is just one example. Here, beaches extend as far as the eye can see and there is a new one after each curve on the road. The more distant and isolated they are, the richer in natural beauty they become. There are also interesting churches, museums and great places to visit as the Sugar Loaf and Corcovado. And you can’t miss Rio’s churracarias– steak houses – where you can find great steaks and meats. Oh! Lets not forget the greatest party in the world: “Carnival”. There is no Carnival like the one in Rio. A whole month is dedicated to it.

So, come visit us.

Q: What research did you do to write Trust?Cópia_de__DSC6054-1

CS: I used my own experience as a lawyer and traveller. For sunsets, moon phases, weather, this kind of thing, it was okay to use the internet to have accurate information but for others, like wine, for example, I consulted an expert. I love to drink wine but I don’t have the knowledge an expert has.

Q: What are your tips for new authors?

CS: Research what you’re writing about which you are not familiar with, if the theme. Surely one of your readers will be.

And, of course, exhaustively review your manuscript and ask, at least five of your friends to read it too.

Q: You read so MANY books! I see a review every alternate day on Goodreads. How do you manage?

CS: I am a fast reader! I read the Twilight series in 4 days. And, I can’t imagine my life without books!

Q: A penny for your thoughts about love and relationships

Noivado Janet 361CS: I’ve been married for more than twenty years with the same adoring man. A strong, loving relationship is made of love, trust, friendship, respect, admiration and a strong connection between the partners. Some think love is just a mirage because falling in love is easy, but staying in love always takes a bit of no-no, not a bit, a lot of work. It’s like a flower that has to be nurtured everyday. As in any relationship, your love partner needs investment. The more you put into it, the more you get back 🙂

Q:  What more can we expect from your pen? After the Trilogy?

CS: After the TRUST trilogy comes another trilogy. LOL. I’m not kidding. Carolina Santo’s story is going to rock Rio de Janeiro, Hollywood, New York and London.

Lunches, dinners, fashion weeks and gala balls will vie for her presence.

The next trilogy will be full of gossip , beautiful and rich people, drugs, sex and rock & roll!!

Q: A parting Surprise!!!!

CS: I’ll let the readers choose a name of the trilogy on a poll on my website. I have a few ideas… But that has to wait a bit. I’m still finishing the last book of the TRUST trilogy!!!

6583811All I can say is I can’t wait for the THIRD installment. I know HOW MUCH i LOVED reading the first two books!!! All I can say is you should catch the First two books because you’ve missed SOMETHING if you haven’t.

4 thoughts on “Cristiane Serruya on Love, Trust, Betrayal and a lot more: Interview

  1. As the leading female character of the TRUST trilogy, Sophia, I believe that Cristiane also thinks that relationships and human interaction needs nurture and care. Those make it blossom and spread. 😉
    Mari

Leave a Reply

