Story Behind Story: Thomas Hay Reveals


 

abduction revelation

Reblogged from: http://thomaslhay.com/story-behind-the-story/

 

Most of my life I can remember wanting to be an author and write a best selling novel. I dreamed to become rich and famous. Unfortunately, I never could find the time to fulfill that dream. After retiring from TWA/American Airlines, time was no longer an excuse. Subject became my hangup. To get me motivated, my lovely wife suggested I write my memoirs. “After all everyone else is writing theirs, so why not you. You have had a intriguing and complicated life,” she commented.

 

The more I thought about it, the more it made sense. After all, I am the only person who knew all my memories. When I pass, they will  turn to dust and evaporate with me. Writing them down would give me eternal life on this world. An added bonus will be a history book for my descendants. They will be able to discover where their craziness came from.

 

I started writing my memories in a big notebook. Soon the pages became jumbled with arrows pointing everywhere. Notes were scribbled here and there and I soon had a complete mess on my hands. Again, my lovely wife came to my rescue. “Why don’t you get a computer?” Brillant idea honey! But then the computer and I had issues right from the start. We finally came to an agreement that I should take a class and learn how it worked. We still had issues, but they are usually resolved. But, it still took me two more years to complete the memoir. Behold: The Comeback Kid, The Memoirs of Thomas L. Hay was published in November 2011.

 

The process was both an invigorating whirlwind of self-enlightenment and a intense emotional trip. To jog my memories, I used song titles. Songs reminded me of a person, a place, or a time in my life. An example: Heartbreak Hotel, when my first wife informed me she was divorcing me. Life is but a series of events, much like a box of assorted cholocates. You never know what could come next. I choose the title “The Comeback Kid” because of the many peaks and valleys I had endured in my life. Somehow, I had always discovered a way to bounce back.

 

After publishing my memoirs, it occurred to me that I  had some mysterious phenomenon buried within my subconscious. Shortly after our divorce, my first wife had claimed that we had been abducted by aliens during our short marriage. This was news to me as I had no memory of it. She said she divorced me because her spirit had persuaded her to become a vegetarian, fast, and abstain from sexual activity. This cleansed her soul and body and melted the memory blocks instilled by the aliens. It exposed traumatic experiences that had been buried within her subconscious. I never believed her. I just assumed that she had a fertile imagination like most who had claimed to be abductees.

 

However, after writing my memoirs, I became tormented to investigate the probability of her claim. Since I could stand to lose a few pounds and age had diminished my sex drive, I adopted her ascetic lifestyle for a few months. O-M-G… I discovered another life. I had to rewrite my original memoirs. Behold: An Abduction Revelation: The Comeback Kid Returns was published in October 2012, by Balboa Press, a Div. of Hay House.

 

Who were the abductors? Where did they come from? Where are they hiding? Do they even exit? The answers to all those questions, plus many more were revealed when my memory blocks melted. My ex-wife had only scratched the surface. What I discovered will startle and torment your imagination.

 

Determining the  genre of the book gave me a headache. Is it a memoir or is it a sci-fi novel? I tell the story and let the reader decide whether it is reality, a dream, a hallucination, or a fermentation of imagination. Maybe my imagination could be hiddern memories? I don’t try to convience the reader one way or the other. I let them determine what they want to believe. However, I did remind them what Albert Einstein said about the mysterious: “The most beautiful thing mankind can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand in awe, is as good as dead, his eyes are closed and he is a stranger unto himself.”

 

Both books are written in a rollicking conversational style. I used many common idioms we all use in everyday conversations. Like: “What the Sam Hill?” We all know what it means, but what of its origin? I became curious to discover the origins of these funny little phases. Thanks to the Internet, I was able to add an appendix to explain how and where these  idioms originated. It made them ‘as clear as a bell’. I am confident you will find my website Idioms blog quite interesting.

 

Both of my books were written to stand alone. The original memoir was written with the memory blocks instilled, while the revised memoir was written after melting the memory blocks. Although there are some repetitiveness during the first few chapters, thereafter, the revised story takes a completely different direction. Buckle up! You are in for one wild ride.

 

WARNING: After reading my story, your life may never be the same.

abduction revelation

One thought on “Story Behind Story: Thomas Hay Reveals

Leave a Reply

