Thrilling to the Core: Dark Whiskey by Emma Meade


dark whiskey

Jesse senses something off about the nightclub. She wants to leave, but her best friend, Tasha, is determined to have a night to remember. There’s no way she’s turning down an invite to the VIP section.Β 

Against Jesse’s better judgement, she follows Tasha up the ivory staircase to the mysterious room above. The whiskey and champagne are flowing, and pretty soon the blood will be too.

This is a short story which I immensely enjoyed reading. One of the advantages of writing a short, is the immediate capturing of the reader’s attention. Jesse knew she should not have gone to the nightclub. But she follows her friend Tasha who is on rebound.

This book reminded me about the importance of believing in your instincts. If you feel something is wrong, then it is much better to act on it and escape while you can.

While I turned pages (= not literally because this was an ebook!!) I couldn’t wait to read what happens next. I wanted to know what the VIP section held, I felt anguish because of the situation Jesse and Tasha had got into.

I loved Jesse’s fiery character and I really wanted to read more about her, or about how she turned around the situation in her favor.

In the end, I really wanted things to turn around, or to read more of what happens. I would have loved to have read a whole book, or even a few 20 more pages showing what happens next, but without revealing the suspense, I can say, I loved this one!!

4star

My Rating: 4/5

This was a highly enjoyable short story. Among the whole crowd of full fledged novels and the small novellas, having these shorts are like a burst of energy.

It is refreshing to not be so hooked on to the characters and to have an open ended story which makes you want more.

It is sheer talent of the author which makes the reader want more, even in a short

And this one surely has all the goods!! Definitely makes the cut!

One thought on “Thrilling to the Core: Dark Whiskey by Emma Meade

Leave a Reply

