I Take my Coffee Very Seriously, says a Cheerful Jo Sparkes


Jo introduces herself in the following words,

Birr-Elixir-OptimizedBorn in Rison, Maryland, which is ‘no sir’ spelled backwards. Studied martial arts — and lacking any natural ability, made every mistake along the way. Eventually the old adage, “a white belt is a black belt that never quit” proved itself. 

I’ve published articles, watched commercials I wrote on television, and helped on set with various projects and corporate videos. Past member of the Pro Football Writer’s Association, when I covered the Arizona Cardinals for a popular fan website. Unofficially (very unofficially) the first to interview Emmitt Smith as a Cardinal. 

Did a short stint on a local children’s television show, wrote pilots for some wonderful producers, and have been in development on a feature script of mine. Four feature scripts, actually. I’ll let you know when we get the green light. 

Discovered the wonderful world of teaching at The Film School at SCC. There is so much talent in the world. It’s an honor and joy to facilitate creativity.

At this very moment we (the husband and Oscar the dog) live in Portland, Oregon. It’s sort of like living in Rivendale — without the ears. 

She’s the talented author of The Birr Elixir (Legend of the Gamesman #1)

Read my review of The Birr Elixir here!

Read my previous interview with Jo here!!

Thinking of a New Plot

Thinking of a New Plot

Jo’s one of the most down to earth and nice persons I know. She is always eager to write for me and is supportive to the pin. Her writing is excellent, without question. But Jo, as a person, is genuine, warm and loving. You really want good things to happen to her always once you’ve interacted with her.

In today’s interaction, we see EXACTLY HOW MUCH FUN she can be!! She answers some fun-filled questions

Q: Your Favorite Cartoon?

JS: Tom and Jerry.

Q: The First Book You’ve Read

JS: It wasn’t the Secret Garden, but probably something similar. I did read every Nancy Drew mystery I could find.

Q: Your favorite author and why

JS: I love Maeve Binchy and Jeffry Archer. They always suck me in. They both feel very human to me – somehow capturing bits that make us all frightening and heroic almost simultaneously.

Q: If You were a Biscuit what would you be?

JS: One of those Scottish shortbreads. Deceptively simple, yet somehow perfect in the right moment.

Just don’t sugar-coat me.

Q: What new are you writing these days?

JS: I’m halfway through the second book in The Legend of the Gamesmen series. Marra is in very deep trouble right now.

Beyond that, I’m working on a sort of supernatural horror in the Caribbean. It’s a beach read, and a story I’ve had in my head for a long time. Probably a year away from being released.

Q: A quirky Jo says?!!

JS: Damn the torpedoes! Full speed ahead!  Err – where were we going?

Pondering Plots

Pondering Plots

QIf I came to your house, what would I find?

JS: An Arizona Cardinals football helmet (autographed by Larry Fitzgerald), a wall of books – some that I’ve owned since I was five – and coffee beans. I take coffee very seriously, and grind my own fresh every morning.

If you would like to write in your comments to Jo, please fill the FORM BELOW

Jo’s wonderful book can be found

On Amazon-http://www.amazon.com/Birr-Elixir-Legend-Gamesment-Volume/dp/0985331836

On Barnes and Noble-http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-birr-elixir-jo-sparkes/1115470299?ean=9780985331832

On Goodreads- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17904468-the-birr-elixir

On Facebook- https://www.facebook.com/BirrElixir

 

 

Leave a Reply

