Infinity Within You- Double Mirrors by Dylan Robert Tauber


The Blurb reads,

“Double Mirrors” is an autobiographical account of a spiritual journey by Dylan Tauber, starting in a yeshiva in Milwaukee and ending with a round the world journey to find a Pacific island with dolphins and seclusion.
In addition to philosophical and spiritual examinations, Dylan Tauber shares some of the personal experiences, anecdotes, triumphs, and tragedies, that brought him to these realizations. The work begins with light autobiographical writing, and gradually increases in depth and philosophical content, with the extended Double Mirror Theory, which explains the human vision of the infinite”

This is a different book. Let me tell you that, on the face of it. It is an account of Dylan Tauber’s personal journey from his childhood and as he explored his own theological thinking of the Double Mirrors and the fact that humans have infinite vision.

I had issues reading the book because even though it was a complete look into Dylan’s mind, like the prescriptions Prozac and others which he took to fight his depression and anxiety, it was filled with writing which wasn’t too relevant to the theory of the Double Mirrors.

I do believe that humans have every ability to make anything possible. The problem with all of us today is that we are limiting. Lets face the truth. Growing spiritually is NOT AN EASY PROCESS. And we have numerous quacks around the world, looking out to exploit this. I found the reading of Dylan’s thoughts about Modern Religion missing the point, very apt.

I’ve seen it many times, the essence of a tradition or the importance has been completely washed out but the rites still remain and are rigidly followed. A society must change with time and this is what Dylan had a problem with, and very rightly so.

Where I struggled with the book is the narrative and the length. I found it a bit laborious to read through every detail of Dylan’s vision quest. I’m a follower of Art of Living and I’m always up for reading about situations which inspire me. I could read between the lines and catch so many places from which I could learn, but the credit for that rests with me, not the book.

I felt the Double Mirrors theory is a brilliant one but it was lost somewhere in the length of the book and the numerous experiences that the author has. I felt that the language had to be simple. The book DID PICK UP, after say Page 200 when Dylan visits Israel and that is when I felt I was reading a proper inspiring journey which would impact my life.

There was one place when I was reading a paragraph and I had the feeling of Deja Vu!! I reproduce the paragraph

If Dolphin has appeared to you today, frothing through the waves in your spread, you are to be a link to some solution for the Children of the Earth. This can be a time when you are to link with the Great Spirit and bring answers to your own questions or to those of others. In addition, this can mean a time of communication with the rhythms of nature. You are put on notice to be mindful of your body rhythms and patterns of energy being fed to you by the Creator. Imitate Dolphin and ride the waves of laughter, spreading joy in the world. Breathe and experience the manna so freely given, Break existing barriers and connect to the dreamtime or Great Star Nation. Know that we are all whole in the eyes of the Everliving One.

At that point, I could feel the marked change in the narrative of the book. I could feel that there was more wisdom in the words and the Dolphin was symbolic of growth, progress and in essence of Life Itself.

I really wish that the Double Mirrors theory had been clearly explained. I can feel the energy and think about the infinite wisdom and vision that humans possess. And I wanted to know more. I wanted to explore more. But I’d say Brevity is the best way to get a point across.

I will look forward to reading the second installment of the book. However, I recommend you, if you pick this book, to read the first 250 pages, a little quickly, before you find the true Gem in the book!!

 

My Rating: 2.5/5

2 and a half stars

 

Leave a Reply

