Get Your #Goals Straight: Practical Goal Setting by Mark Milotay


The Blurb Reads,

“Are you living the life you want to? Are you having trouble moving forward? Have you read books like the 4-Hour Workweek & the $100 Startup, but haven’t been able to put them into action? This book will teach you the skills to create the life you want to live. The author found himself stuck in his life and his previous goal-setting skills weren’t helping him. This book contains the findings of a year’s research he did to change his life. He now wants to share this information so that people can create their ideal lives.”

Now I’ve read the $100 Startup very carefully and then this book piqued my interest just then! Who doesn’t want to get their goals straight and become like one of those Life Coaches we see or read about? How would we feel making millions by just the click of a button and then watching money pour into our account? (=Hint to The Inbox Blueprint by Anik Singal which I think is just a big fraud!!)

We all want to be very successful in life and to be successful it is very essential to draw up your goals very carefully.

That is where I loved this book. It is so simple and uniquely written. Usually what follows are a host of suggestions and mostly a lot of horn tooting about the writer’s own achievements. But this book just broke down goals into 4 types depending upon the bigger picture.

While it is difficult to think about goals for your entire life sitting in the comfort of your home/ office, it is a task which has to be done sometime or the other. It is best to make a plan or at least have a vision of where you expect to see yourself in say 10 years. Slowly narrowing it down and making those goals achievable.

A lot of the books I have read simply focus on the vision and leave it at that. I believe that every goal I envision comprises of smaller goals which I need to successfully complete before I can comfortably achieve my larger life goal.

This book compartmentalizes those goals and the smaller stepping stones to your goals. This book will take your time. You can’t just read it and come out enriched. It is a process where you think about the questions the author has put in a section and also map it to your present life.

I found this book a really simple and useful book. I tried thinking of the goals I had in terms of the views of the author. While I don’t claim instant success, I am at least a tad bit better off than just sitting and wondering about the direction my life will take. Be it my goal relating to work, reading, traveling, writing or finding a partner and settling down, I do know the small steps I need to plan to achieve those and I hope that the book helps me more as I plan my goals more fruitfully now.

My Rating: 4/5
image

Leave a Reply

