A Magical Story: Skylar Wishes by Tina L Hook


The blurb reads

Grace is the only one who remembers the truth—that comets are the source of extraordinary destinies. Since their last night together, all memory of their comets and their old powers has abandoned Skylar and Alina. All that is left is Alina’s enduring envy for everything Skylar touches, and Alina’s sudden ability to wake up inside of Skylar’s body, if only for a few minutes.

After Alina finally forces her will and switches bodies with Skylar, harsh realities surface. The holes in Skylar’s relationship with Darren are exposed, and Skylar herself becomes seduced by the idea of living two lives at once, and loving two men at once.

Grace might be able to save them, but everything Skylar and Alina know about love has to change. When their comets return, these three women must choose their fate once more.

Here is the beautiful cover

Here is the beautiful cover

This was a very novel book. I started by checking the book out on Goodreads and then saw a review which told me the book would have multiple Points of Views. By then I had already started reading a little and knew atleast 2 different points of views. But 7? How was I going to handle that?

But I did. And I rather enjoyed reading about it. This book spoke to me on so many different levels.

Author Tina Hook

Author Tina Hook

The book starts with Alina shifting into Skylar’s body and finding herself so powerful And getting something she always wanted. Skylar realises something is wrong when she finds herself in Alina’s body, miles away from civilization.

This book although it shifted through multiple points, kept the storyline taut and I was fully involved. I could make out Skylar’s daring swagger of changing through bodies and liking it, Alina’s desperate desire to be who she always envied and Grace who always wanted a family.

It made me wonder the extents to which we went to get our way and how living a fairytale life was sometimes not enough? What about the sacrifices we made to keep people happy even at the cost of living a life which was secondary to what we are supposed to be?

Their lives intersect when Skylar’s decision to enjoy her life in Alina’s body leads her to go much farther than she expected. What she does not count on are her feelings which betray her and which compel her to be human.

I found myself wondering what I could do if I could shape shift. If I could live in someone else’s body, just to see how they lived their lives. Would someone else want to live in mine? How come we only considered people at face value but never looked at the lives they led behind the closets? This book made me introspect on those lines.

However having said that, the ending was a little chaotic before an epilogue of sorts fitted everything in a slightly hazy perspective. The characters don’t grow on you but you find yourself wondering nonetheless.

 

My rating: 3.5/5

3.5 starts

2 thoughts on “A Magical Story: Skylar Wishes by Tina L Hook

  1. What a great post! It’s nice to hear you connected on a personal level with the book too – wouldn’t shifting be fun?!
    If you have a second could you please cross post your review to Amazon and/or Good Reads? I know Tina would really appreciate it!
    Thanks for being a part of our tour and making it even better with your lovely post

    • Hey

      Thank you for your comment. I am glad you enjoyed it. I’ll definitely cross post it as soon as I can to Amazon.

      I’d love it if you could check out other posts and let me know your thoughts.

      Thanks for stopping by again!

Leave a Reply

