An Addictive Historical: Abby’s Heart by Kristine Raymond


image

Abby Prescott is a proper young lady who has never ventured far from home. She travels West to attend her aunt’s wedding and suddenly finds herself captivated by the beautiful, rugged landscape as well as the attention from not one, but two men.

Malcolm ‘Boots’ Dunn is a young man who is on top of the world. He has re-opened Cooper’s Mine – a gold mine that has been closed up for more than twenty years. Fun-loving and easy-going, pretty Abby Prescott catches his eye and he knows that she is the one for him.

Simon Archer is a solemn, hard-working man who spends his days apprenticing as a blacksmith and his nights dreaming for a woman to share his life with. When he meets Abby, he knows that she is the woman of his dreams and he will stop at nothing to have her.

As both men vie for Abby’s affections, she innocently encourages their advances with disastrous consequences. When the dust settles, which one will win Abby’s heart?

This was my first Western Book. It took me to the time period and I could picture the small town and each of the characters.

I’d not read the other books but this was a standalone with small remnants from the previous books so I never felt isolated at any point of time. I could relate to Abby on so many levels. She was independent. She had dreams. She wanted to be a journalist too. And she was so full of life. It reminded me of the cherubic innocence and enthusiasm that people have when they are teetering on the threshold of adolescence and adulthood.

The decision to pursue your dreams is never an easy one and Abby endeared me when she took that step. But I lost all respect for her when she decided to play with the affections of both Simon and Boots.

This part actually made me think about the detrimental picture which romances paint for gullible children who read them. In these times of over exposure to sex and the trivialized nature of human emotions, does it really help to have books which are so flippant about human emotions.

image

At this point in the story the author had clearly introduced characters from the previous books. I actually found their story much more endearing than Abby whose dual thoughts had by then out me off.

I felt the flow of the book was somehow anticipated. If you play with emotions, there always has to be someone who will get hurt and retaliate. And this is exactly what happened.

The end was something I didn’t anticipate at all. I felt really crushed at the end. I was happy that Abby made her choice but that decision came with heavy consequences. The book also made me wonder about careless thoughts and revengeful actions can have on the life of others. Why do we believe the words of others so easily but hold back on our own feelings? Why do we cloak our communications with our loved ones based on the thoughts of others?
image

I felt one main defect with this book. The story was supposed to be centred around Abby but the back stories of the other couples had me more interested.

My Rating: 3.5/5
image

I absolutely loved the end and I loved the back stories but I can’t help but hold back my rating because this was supposed to be all about Abby. I found her own interactions very limited and I missed something in the book even in terms if a chemistry between either of the couples.

I’m looking forward to the next book in the series though! The characters are those who will stay with you long after you finish.

Leave a Reply

