Cell Phone Addiction


Can You Hear Me Now

CAN YOU HEAR ME NOW! Someone shouted as I was walking through a shopping mall. “Yes, I can hear you…loud and clear,” I replied.

The person must had thought I was deaf because he walked a few feet further and shouted again, CAN YOU HEAR ME NOW!

I then realized he wasn’t talking to me. Maybe he was trying to get in touch with God, because he was talking to someone not in sight.

That was my first encounter with the cell phone. When I finally realized what he was doing, I knew right then that the cell phone and I was not going to have a pleasant relationship. Almost overnight it seemed an awful lot of people were walking around shouting those words. All of a sudden, to be important, you had to have a cell phone. Now days everyone gets to listen to everyone’s conversations everywhere we go. Poor superman. He had to find another place to change. Phone booths, public phones, and private conversations have gone the way of the dinosaur.

People are now on the phone holding up the line at the bank, at the grocery store, or almost everywhere I go. I can count on someone disturbing my peaceful meal while dining at a restaurant, in the middle of my golf swing, at an exciting moment during a movie, or interrupting a conversation we were having. Perphaps the most irritating of all is having to listen to the dude in a public restroom announce to his caller he has diarrhea. Come on man, the smell alone was enough to make me want to puke. Most cell phone users seem to have no clue that those around them might not want to hear their conversation. If you mention this to them, they look at you as if you are some kind of a nut.

Cell phones are now more addictive than drugs, tobacco, and alcohol combined. Teenagers will knock off their parents if they should even think about taking their phone away as a punishment. Before you know it, little Johnny will be demanding a phone as soon as he learns to talk.

These small communications devices have caused big communications problems. My dad whistled outside when supper was ready. Today’s dad has to text the kids in their separate bedrooms to come get their dinner. Face to face conversations are as dead as a door nail. Driving has become bumper car road rage.

People of the world have become slaves to these electronic gadgets. They are compelled to answer every call as if it were an emergency or play every one of those silly games or take that once in a lifetime picture. What’s a old fart like me that doesn’t have one to do? Submit and join those addicted, or don’t give in to the temptation and stay a free sane man. I don’t know how much longer I’ll be able to hold out. My family and friends insist that I join in their addicted slave world. I say what has worked for me in the past, will work for me in the future. That could put me in the Guinness World Book of Records or at the very least, a Ripley’s Believe It or Not candidate, for being the only insane person on earth cause I don’t have nor want a cell phone.

“You talk too much…you worry me to death. You even worry my pet. You talk about people that you don’t know. You talk about people wherever you go. You talk about people you’ve never seen. You can make me scream. You just talk too much…”

Excerpt from my first book, “The Comeback Kid, Memoirs of Thomas L. Hay”. I tell lots of interesting stories like this. Available on Amazon: http://www.amzn.to/1bWV44N or available for the latest edition and in all ebook formats at smashwords: http://.www.bit.ly/17yuDiz.

Leave a Reply

