#Delicious Start to a Magical Series: Cupcakes, Trinklets and Other Deadly Magic by Meghan Ciana Diodge


Tour Banner - cupcakes, trinketsThe blurb reads

If you’d asked me a week ago, I would have told you that the best cupcakes were dark chocolate with chocolate cream cheese icing, that dancing in a crowd of magic wielders — the Adept — was better than sex, and that my life was peaceful and uneventful. Just the way I liked it. That’s what twenty-three years in the magical backwater of Vancouver will get you — a completely skewed sense of reality. Because when the dead werewolves started showing up, it all unraveled … except for the cupcake part. That’s a universal truth. 

It can be found HERE on Amazon!!

This 68,000 word urban fantasy is the first book of the Dowser Series by author Meghan Ciana Doidge.

Cupcakes_bookcover

The quirky name really caught my attention when this came up as a part of the Making Connections blog tour! Once I started reading this book, I was drawn into it. Jade is a simple girl who owns her own bakery shop. Her  grandmother and her mother have their own magic powers but Jade has always believed that she was nobody special. All that happens to change in one instant.

Jade is a sweet character and makes you gun for her instantly. Her confusion is palpable. When werewolves start showing up dead with trinklets that Jade makes as a hobby, the whole Adept world descends on her trying to find out the reason for those killings. The book spans Jade’s journey as she figures out the mystery behind these recent killings.

The book made me want to read more from the author and more from the series. I could understand Jade’s confusion and the way the book turned was not something I expected. I enjoyed reading the way the story meandered through Jade’s bakery. It did make me hungry many times. This beautiful cover did not help either.

When I was reading the book, I was fully absorbed with the characters and how the story progressed. But what struck me is, the simple fact that, come 2 weeks, I have to really struggle to remember what the story was about. That was a little bit of a problem. While making Jade so much of a girl next door, it felt as if the whole story was somehow set back into a tranquil story. There were ups and downs but not something which would sway your emotions in every direction possible. It was a paranormal tale but this being Story #1, I am looking forward to what Jade uncovers in the future.

What I enjoyed about the book was the visual writing. I could imagine every scene and even the characters. It helped a lot because I read this book during my exams and it was a great stress buster. I am still invested in the series and I want to follow Jade as she discovers her powers and talents! I can’t give this more than 3 *, it is like a pilot episode, interesting enough to make you want to continue but not as thrilling as a finale!!

My Rating: 3/5

3 star

Biography

meg_withloveinacup_forblog

Meghan Ciana Doidge is an award-winning writer based out of Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. She has a penchant for bloody love stories, superheroes, and the supernatural. She also has a thing for chocolate, potatoes, and sock yarn.

Novels – After The Virus, Spirit Binder, Time Walker, Cupcakes, Trinkets, and Other Deadly Magic – Dowser #1, Trinkets, Treasures, and Other Bloody Magic – Dowser #2, Treasures, Demons, and Other Black Magic – Dowser #3

Novellas/Shorts – Love Lies Bleeding and The Graveyard Kiss

WARNING: author has been known to manipulate characters with chocolate, sex, and fantastical plotting. Readers beware http://author.to/meghancianadoidge

 

Links

 

Blog, www.madebymeghan.ca

Twitter, @mcdoidge

Facebook, Meghan Ciana Doidge

NEW RELEASE MAILING LIST

Amazon Author Page

Goodreads Author Page

The book can be found HERE on Amazon!

 

 

2 thoughts on “#Delicious Start to a Magical Series: Cupcakes, Trinklets and Other Deadly Magic by Meghan Ciana Diodge

  1. Love thebooks, couldn’t put them down. Need my next fix of cupcakes and fun. My mother in law and I want to make some of the cupcakes. They sound very delicious and decadent, you need to put them in a recipe book for all your readers.

Leave a Reply

