#Interview – I’m Just A Regular Guy says Author Oliver Phipps


Oliver Phipps’s book excited me when I read the blurb on Amazon. It made me want to read it immediately. But first, I thought let me get to know the author. And to my surprise, he agreed to be featured in an interview on my blog.

1. How did you start writing?

I started writing stories around the age of ten. I wrote lyrics with bands that I played with in my twenties. Then in 2004 I published a ‘how to’ book about auctions. I began working on my fiction books around 2010 and it sort of snowballed from there.

2. Tell me about your childhood?

My father worked for the railroad so I was sort of a “railroad brat” if there is such a thing. We moved around a lot and it gave me a diverse experience growing up. I’m sure this had some bearing on my writing. One example is The Ghosts of Company K.

oliver phipps 1

3. How many books have you published?

I’ve published ten books, though one of these has been taken off the market until I can rewrite and re-edit it. Another I published under a pen name. I’ve also written various articles and short stories under pen names.

4. What makes you tick as a writer?

I love to entertain people. I love the thought of making someone smile or causing one of those ‘good and scary’ chills to run down someone’s back when reading a my book. My music career never took off, but now I think that’s for the best as I love writing stories.

5. Any quirks you have as a writer?

I don’t know if it could be called a quirk or not, but I’m rather merciless when it comes to staying true to the story. I remember getting many comments about the bestseller Tears of Abandon. Everyone liked the book but they were sad that some of the characters had to die. I told them that it wasn’t a pleasant thing for me to let these characters die, but it’s how the story played out and I would do what was necessary to stay true to the story. I won’t allow a last minute “rescue” of a character unless it’s possible in real life and true to the story.

oliver phipps 2

6. How do you think of your characters? Do you use any real life references?

I have had so many people in my life over the years that I seem to have a treasure trove of character material. I’ve traveled the world and lived many places. I think this has benefited my character building abilities immensely.

7. Tell me about you, as a person and as an author

I’m just a regular guy for the most part. I love to do guy things and spend time with my family. When I was younger I couldn’t sit still and wanted travel and adventure. I got a healthy dose of that travel and adventure until I was about thirty five. Then I began to settle down, and now I live those adventure desires out with my stories. I’m just happy to share them and very happy that people seem to enjoy them.

oliver phipps 3

 

Oliver can be found on Goodreads, Facebook and Amazon

Do check his work out!

 

Leave a Reply

