#Sweet Romance – Welcome Reluctant Stranger (Between Two Worlds #3) by E Journey


The blurb reads,

“Can a family bury its secret past?

Like her long-lost father, Leilani heals people. But can she heal herself? Accept the awful truth about her father―left behind when her family fled the troubled country of Costa Mora eighteen years ago?

Brokenhearted, Justin just wants to drown his sorrows. But he finds more trouble than he’s looking for when thugs assault him and a mysterious woman with a dead aim rescues him.
A young woman’s inner journey accepting her past spun within a tale of love and past political intrigue.”

welcome reluctant stranger

I enjoyed this sweet and clean romance. It made me feel all nice and good. I loved Leilani and Justin’s relationship and I can somehow relate to a whirlwind romance when things change before you know it.

I was approached by the author to read the book and I was a little concerned that this was the third book in a series and whether I could approach it as a standalone.

But I needn’t have worried because the series looks at stories of one couple every book. This book looked at Leilani and Justin.

Leilani is from Costa Mora, a small country shrouded in disputes, civil wars, unrest, corruption and political upheavals. Her family brings her to safe lands when she was young and she has wondered about why they really moved since then.

Justin is a dashing man who finds his life upturned when his girlfriend breaks up with him and he is accosted by thugs.

What happens when a chance encounter happens. How does life play Cupid with Leilani and Justin?

I wondered when I read the book, about the chemistry between Leilani and Justin. It is latent, so to speak. There are books where the chemistry, the action and indeed the feeling between the leads is so apparent that you feel swept away. This book was a lot more slower and indeed, made you read between the lines to discover a familiar sort of camaraderie that had formed between Justin and Leilani. From this camaraderie came a need to be with the other person which superseded their friendship and transformed it into love.

I do know how it feels to have that one person who suddenly becomes a sounding board for everything you have to say. So I could feel how Justin had somehow taken on that role of being Leilani’s sounding board and became someone she could depend on.

There is also an element of suspense in the book related to Leilani’s past and I think it made good reading. The author has written very well about Leilani going headstrong to confronting her past.

However, I feel, the author hurried up the end too much which is why I deducted one star. I felt she hurried through Leilani’s past and also the Epilogue was badly constructed in terms of the writing. There were lot of unanswered questions which somehow didn’t feel answered and I felt I didn’t get proper closure about the characters when I read the Epilogue or the end of the book. It felt too abrupt and did not transition smoothly. I do place a lot of importance on Epilogues and their role in somehow bringing people closure and also leaving them with an element of surprise and anticipation for the future novels. The Novel The Paths of Alir (Pattern of Shadow and Light #3) by Melissa McPhail is one of those novels which had one of the best epilogues I have ever read. I am so geared up for the next book but unfortunately, it is only going to be released in 2016, so my wait continues.

I do hope I get a chance to read the other 2 books which preceeded this book because I am interested in the story now.

My Rating: 3.5/5

3.5 starts

One thought on “#Sweet Romance – Welcome Reluctant Stranger (Between Two Worlds #3) by E Journey

Leave a Reply

