#Cute – Honey the Hero by Emlyn Chand


The blurb reads,

Honey, an inquisitive young parakeet living in the Australian Outback, decides to become a superhero after she spies a human family watching Superman. Since she already has the power of flight, all she needs to do is create a costume to conceal her true identity and then fly off in search of animals that need rescuing.

Unfortunately, every time she tries to help, Honey only ends up making matters worse. She spoils Kangaroo’s game of hide-and-go-seek by revealing his hiding place to Wallaby; Mr. Anteater must go hungry when she alerts the ants to his presence, and Mrs. Koala is made a laughingstock among bears when Honey pretends to be her Joey. Finally realizing that she’s not as heroic as she’d like, Honey gives up her day-saving efforts.

But what happens when someone actually needs Honey’s help? Will she rise to the challenge?

Honey the Hero is the first in a new series of color-illustrated books for children entitled The Bird Brain Books.”

13599792

 

This was one of the cutest books I have read. I didn’t think I would get to read a children’s book. I read the ones at home fairly often and then enjoy the trip back to my childhood and this one was just like that.

I got the opportunity to be a part of Emlyn Chand’s Super Reader team and I got this novel as a part of that program. And then in January, I sat down and read ‘Honey the Hero’

And the book was so much of fun! The illustrations made it so much better. The book made me sort of wonder what sort of education we were giving our kids. I mean I was reading this book with my cousin and he is 5 but he didn’t know half the words in the book or I had to break an already simple story down to him. I’m sure I was more…how do I put it, more adept at reading when I was his age. I would catch things told me to me quicker. It just made me wonder whether all the gadgets and gizmos we keep flashing beats reading as a form of education. I don’t think so.

This is a great book to read to your kids. And not just because Honey is helpful, sweet and maybe gullible like a child. But because you need to teach children to extend a hand for help. And teach them to not force it on people the way Honey did. I remember my cousin saying Honey the hero, Honey the hero for quite a while after I read him the story.

This is a very cute book and I had way too much fun reading it.

My Rating: 5/5

I can’t critique a children’s book! Really. They are all 5 stars for me.

5 star

Leave a Reply

